Wines : White wine varieties


The Riesling is the grape typical for Germany and is the source of the finest white wines throughout the world. It is the predominant variety in Germany, being cultivated on a total area of 22,400 hectares (56,000 US acres). Its small and late-maturing grapes place high demands on its vineyards. It strongly reflects the diversity of soil and the individual microclimates ('terroir'). Its wines are always full of finesse and they age well. Grown on soils rich in minerals such as slate, granite and basalt, Riesling wines taste of citrus fruit or have a flinty and - with increasing age - a petrol tone. They usually preserve a light and racy character. Lime soil and coloured sandstone on the other hand produce Riesling wines of fine fruitiness (peaches, apricots and tropical fruits) with more body and a fine acidity.

  • Riesling Rebe
  • Riesling Rebe

Weißburgunder (White Burgundy)

This variety, internationally known as Pinot Blanc, is a white mutation of the Burgundy family. It produces elegant white wines with a delicate aroma of pineapple and apricot and a mild acidity. The well-balanced, harmonious, often full-bodied wines are an ideal companion for food of any kind.

  • Rebsorte Weißburgunder

Sauvignon Blanc

As a single variety, the Sauvignon can be found as 'Sancerre' and as 'Pouilly Fumé' along the river Loire. More recently it has also been grown in New Zealand. Together with the 'Semillon' variety it produces the renowned and naturally-sweet 'Sauternes' wines in France. In Austria it is known as 'Muskat-Silvaner' and in the New World it is often called 'Fumé Blanc'. In line with all these synonyms it produces wines of intense fragrance with a spicy aroma evocative of flintstone, gooseberry and green fruit, and is always harmonious in its acidity.

  • Sauvignon Blanc


This bouquet-variety with an intense fragrance of roses and marked spiciness is cultivated as a speciality in the Palatinate. The 'Pfälzer Traminer' wines have quite often excelled in international Traminer contests, thus also having friends outside their home region of Tramin (in South Tyrol). The full-bodied wines with an often spicy finish and a very mild acidity are wines for wine lovers par excellence.

  • Gewürztraminer Rebsorte

Cabernet Blanc

This new white grape was first cultivated in 1991 by the viticulturist Valentin Blattner in the Swiss Jura mountains under the synonym VB-91-26-1. It is an interspecific cross between the Cabernet Sauvignon grape and fungi-resistant partners. According to Jancis Robinson: "...possibly a Cabernet Sauvignon x (Silvaner x (Riesling x Vitis vinifera) x (JS 12471 x Chancellor) complex hybrid..." from Jancis Robinson: Wine grapes, Penguin 2012, p. 148).
This grape, which is currently being trialled, belongs to the so-called fungi-resistant grape varieties in Germany. Selection and propagation take place at the Freytag vine nursery in the Palatinate,
Its scent is reminiscent of the Sauvignon Blanc grape but with clearly much greener aromas. Even its taste is similar to that of Sauvignon Blanc or even Riesling wines.

Pictures: Rebschule Freytag

  • Cabernet Blanc
  • Rebsorte Cabernet Blanc
VDP Prädikatsweingut

Weine : Weißweinrebsorten

Riesling

Der Riesling ist die deutsche Rebsorte schlechthin und die Quelle der feinsten Weißweine der Welt. Er hat in Deutschland seine weiteste Verbreitung und wird hier auf 22.400 Hektar Rebfläche angebaut. Kleinbeerig und spätreifend stellt er an die Weinbergslage hohe Ansprüche und spiegelt Bodenunterschiede und Kleinklima ("Terroir") in ausdrucksstarker Weise wieder. Er bringt stets finessenreiche und langlebige Weine. Auf mineralischen Böden wie Schiefer, Granit und Basalt zeigt er Citrus-, Feuerstein- und im Alter Petrolnoten und bleibt zumeist schlank und rassig. Feinfruchtige Aromen nach Pfirsich, Aprikose und Südfrüchten zeigt er auf Kalk und Buntsandstein und wird dort fülliger mit zarter Säure.

  • Riesling Rebe
  • Riesling Rebe

Weißburgunder

Die international Pinot Blanc genannte Rebsorte ist eine weiße Mutation der Burgunderfamilie. Er bringt elegante Weißweine mit dezenten Aromen (Ananas, Aprikose) und weicher Säure. Die ausgewogenen harmonischen oft auch fülligen Weine sind hervorragende Essensbegleiter.

  • Rebsorte Weißburgunder

Grauburgunder

Der Grauburugnder ist eine weitere Spielart der Burgunderfamilie mit rotgrauen bis violetten Trauben. Weitere Synonyme der Sorte lauten Pinot Grigio, Pinot Gris und Ruländer. Der Grauburgunder bringt gehaltvolle kräftige Weine mit eher weicher Säure hervor. Die Duftaromen reichen von grünen Nüssen, Mandeln, frischer Butter bis hin zu fruchtigen Aromen, die an Birne, Trockenobst, Ananas und Zitrusfrüchte erinnern. Aufgrund der Beerenfarbe zeigen sich die Weißweine in manchen Jahren einen Hauch lachs- oder zwiebelschalenfarben.

  • Grauburgunder
  • Grauburgunder

Sauvignon Blanc

Sortenrein findet man Sauvignon Blanc an der Loire als Sancerre und Pouilly Fumé und neuerdings auch in Neuseeland. In Frankreich bildet er außerdem zusammen mit dem Semillon die berühmten edelsüßen Sauternes. In Österreich kennt man ihn als Muskat-Silvaner, in der neuen Welt wird er häufig Fumé Blanc genannt. Gemäß dieser Synonyme bringt intensiv duftende Weine mit würzigen Aromen, Feuerstein, Stachelbeere und grüner Frucht bei einer harmonischen Säure.

  • Sauvignon Blanc

Cabernet Blanc

Diese neue weiße Rebsorte wurde 1991 vom Rebzüchter Valentin Blattner im schweizerischen Jura unter dem Synonym VB-91-26-1 gezüchtet. Sie ist eine interspezifische Kreuzung zwischen Cabernet Sauvignon und Resistenzpartner, die pilzwiderstandfähig sind. Lt. Jancis Robinson: "...possibly a Cabernet Sauvignon x (Silvaner x (Riesling x Vitis vinifera) x (JS 12471 x Chancellor) complex hybrid..." aus Jancis Robinson: Wine grapes, Penguin 2012, S. 148).
Bislang im Versuchsanbau zugelassen, zählt man sie in Deutschland zu den sog. PIWIs (pilzwiderstandsfähige Rebsorten). Sie wird von der Pfälzer Rebschule Freytag selektioniert und vermehrt, www.rebschule-freytag.de.
Der Wein erinnert im Duft an Sauvignon Blanc, jedoch mit deutlich grünerer Aromatik. Auch im Geschmack ähnelt er Sauvignon Blanc oder gar Riesling.

Fotos: Rebschule Freytag

  • Cabernet Blanc
  • Rebsorte Cabernet Blanc

Gewürztraminer

Die Bukettsorte mit intensivem Rosenduft und Würze wird in der Pfalz als Spezialität angebaut. Pfälzer Traminer machten schon häufiger bei internationalen Traminer-Wettbewerben von sich reden, sodass sie auch außerhalb ihrer Heimat Tramin (Südtirol) ihre Freunde hat. Die kräftigen oft nachhaltig würzig schmeckenden Weine mit sehr milder Säure sind ausgesprochene Liebhaberweine.

  • Gewürztraminer Rebsorte
VDP Prädikatsweingut