Wines : Red wine varieties

Spätburgunder

The ruby-red Spätburgunder wines belong to the noblest red wines of the world. In its home region of Burgundy this variety can be traced back to the 4th century. It found its way to Germany five centuries later. Internationally known as 'Pinot Noir', it requires much care and places high demands on the climate and the vineyard. It is a labour-intensive variety both in the vineyards as well as in the cellars and rewards the producer with elegant, full-bodied red wines which show a fine earthy fruitiness (strawberry, violets) as well as revealing good structure and body on the palate.

  • Rebsorte Spätburgunder

Merlot

This international grape variety is only cultivated in Germany on a small scale. It is most-widely planted in the Bordeaux region of France and serves there as a wine for blending with 'Cabernet Sauvignon' and 'Cabernet Franc' softening the distinctive tannin of the latter-named wines by virtue of its fruitiness and smooth body. Single variety Merlot wines are to be found in Pomerol ('Château Petrus') and in the Ticino region of Switzerland. Merlot wines have also recently been increasingly more successful in the New World (South Africa, Argentina) due to their full-bodied and smooth-textured nature. In Germany it is a wine with a deep and dark colour coupled with a fine fruitiness and a well-balanced play of tannic acid.

  • Rebsorte Merlot

Dornfelder

This highly successful new German red wine variety was discovered in 1955 by August Herold in the Württemberg region; it is a cross between Helfensteiner (Frühburgunder x Trollinger) and Heroldrebe (Portugieser x Limberger). As a fast-growing and robust variety, it requires much sensitivity on the part of the winegrower in order to increase the concentration of the wines by appropriately reducing the yield. These uncomplicated red wines are always intense in colour, smooth-textured and well-balanced, and reveal an excellent fruitiness (sour cherry, blackberry).

  • Rebsorte Dornfelder
VDP Prädikatsweingut
powered by webEdition CMS

Weine : Rotweinrebsorten

Spätburgunder

Die rubinroten Spätburgunder zählen zu den edelsten Rotweinen der Welt. In ihrer Heimat Burgund wurde die Sorte bereits im 4. Jahrhundert nachgewiesen und gelangte im 9. Jahrhundert nach Deutschland. Die edle, international als Pinot Noir bekannte Sorte erfordert viel Sorgfalt und stellt hohe Ansprüche an Klima und Lage. Die große Mühe, die man mit dem Spätburgunder im Weinberg wie im Keller hat, wird durch elegante und füllige Rotweine belohnt, die feinfruchtig erdige Aromen (Erdbeere, Veilchen) zeigen und im Gaumen gute Struktur und Gehalt aufweisen.

  • Rebsorte Spätburgunder

Merlot

Die internationale Rebsorte wird in Deutschland bislang erst in kleinem Umfang angebaut. In Frankreich hat sie in Bordeaux ihre größte Verbreitung und dient als Verschnittpartner für Cabernet Sauvignon und Cabernet Franc, deren harte Gerbstoffstoffe sie durch Frucht und weiche Fülle mildert. Sortenreine Merlots gibt es in Pomerol (Chateau Petrus), im Tessin und auch die neue Welt (Südafrika, Argentinien) feiert in den letzten Jahren mehr und mehr Erfolge mit den fülligen und geschmeidigen Weinen. Auch hier bei uns zeigt er tiefdunkle Farbe, feine Frucht und ausgewogene Gerbstoffe.

  • Rebsorte Merlot

Dornfelder

Die erfolgreichste deutsche Rotwein-Neuzüchtung wurde 1955 von August Herold in Württemberg aus Helfensteiner (Frühburgunder X Trollinger) und Heroldrebe (Portugieser X Limberger) gekreuzt. Robust und wuchskräftig erfordert die Sorte das Feingefühl des Winzers um die Erträge zu reduzieren und so die Konzentration der Weine zu erhöhen. Die unkomplizierten Rotweine zeigen sich immer sehr farbintensiv, wunderbar beerenfruchtig (Sauerkirsche, Brombeere) und im Geschmack geschmeidig und ausgewogen.

  • Rebsorte Dornfelder
VDP Prädikatsweingut
powered by webEdition CMS